From Getting Started to Going Big: The O.C. Cluss Story
Founded in in 1918 in Uniontown, PA by Otto Charles (O.C.) Cluss, O.C. Cluss was incorporated a year later with O.C. elected president and general manager. After 40 years at the helm, O.C. turned the reins over to his sons, John and Charles, and brother-in-law, C.J. Barnes.
The new leadership of the 1960s established O.C. Cluss as a significant western Pennsylvania construction and building materials supplier. As Charles’ sons began entering the picture in the 1970s, company growth continued and O.C. Cluss evolved into the major regional lumber and building materials supplier it is today. The company remains privately owned and family operated.
O.C. Cluss Timeline
- 1918 – Founded.
- 1919 – Incorporated.
- 1972 – Modern home center opened.
- 1986 – Second yard opened in Greensburg, PA.
- 1990 – Third yard opened in Aliquippa, PA.
- 1997 – West Virginia’s Brown Lumber Yards purchased,
with locations in Fairmont and Summersville.
- 1997 – Modern $3 million pro yard and distribution center built in Pleasant Valley,
WV to replace Brown’s Fairmont yard.
- 2001 – Expansion into Oakland, MD with the purchase of Fred E. Beachy Lumber.
- 2002 – Cluss Professional Installation Services launched in Uniontown.
- 2005 – $3.5 million pro yard and door shop facility built in Oakland, replacing original facility.
- 2006 – Acquired Fox Glass Company, a Uniontown, PA commercial contract glazing and
architectural aluminum specialist.
- Today – O.C. Cluss remains a firmly-established major regional supplier while continuing to expand
and discover new niches in the industry.